Greenaway Medal Winners – Illustrators

illustration by Kate Greenaway

The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in the United Kingdom in 1955 in honour of the children’s illustrator Kate Greenaway. The medal is given annually to an outstanding work of illustration in children’s literature. It is awarded by Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP).

I’ve put the winners first in alphabetical order by author for easier library searches, then in chronological order.

Kate Greenaway Medal Winners 1956 – 2013

(arranged alphabetically by author)

Ahlberg, Allan and Janet – The Jolly Christmas Postman ; Each Peach Pear Plum
Aiken, Joan – The Kingdom Under the Sea (ill. by Jan Pienkowski)
Ambrus, Victor – The Three Poor Tailors ; Horses in Battle ; Mishka
Ardizzone, Edward – Tim All Alone
Baker-Smith, Grahame – FArTHER
Blake, Quentin – Mr. Magnolia
Briggs, Raymond – Father Christmas ; Mother Goose Treasury
Browne, Anthony – Zoo ; Gorilla
Burningham, John – Borka: The Adventures of a Goose with No Feathers ; Mr. Gumpy’s Outing
Carter, Angela – Sleeping Beauty and Other Favourite Fairy Tales (ill. Michael Foreman)
Chekhov, Anton – Kashtanka (ill. by William Stobbs)
Child, Lauren – I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato
Cooper, Helen – Pumpkin Soup ; The Baby Who Wouldn’t Go To Bed
Drummond, V.H. – Mrs. Easter and the Storks
Foreman, Michael – War Boy: a Country Childhood
French, Fiona – Snow White in New York
Gaiman, Neil – The Sleeper and the Spindle (ill. by Chris Riddell)
Graham, Bob – Jethro Byrde, Fairy Child
Gravett, Emily – Little Mouse’s Big Book of Fears ; Wolves
Grey, Mini – The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon
Grill, William – Shackleton’s Journey
Hadithi, Mwenye – Crafty Chameleon (ill. by Adrienne Kennaway)
Haley, Gail E. – The Post Office Cat
Hastings, Selma – Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady (ill. by Juan Wijngaard)
Hathorn, Libby – Way Home (ill. by Gregory Rogers)
Hest, Amy – When Jessie Came Across the Sea (ill. by P. J. Lynch)
Hodges, C. Walter – Shakespeare’s Theatre
Hughes, Shirley – Ella’s Big Chance ; Dogger
Hutchins, Pat – The Wind Blew
Keeping, Charles – The Highwayman ; Charley, Charlotte and the Golden Canary
Klassen, Jon – This is Not My Hat
LeCain, Errol – Hiawatha’s Childhood
MacFarlane, Robert – The Lost Words (ill. by Jackie Morris)
Manning-Sanders, Ruth (ed.) – A Bundle of Ballads (ill. by William Stobbs)
Ness, Patrick – A Monster Calls (ill. by Jim Kay)
Oxenbury, Helen – Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland ; The Quangle Wangle’s Hat ; The Dragon of an Ordinary Family
Pearce, Philippa – Mrs. Cockle’s Cat (ill. by Antony Maitland)
Pienkowski, Jan – The Haunted House
Piers, Helen – Long Neck and Thunder Foot (ill. by Michael Foreman)
Pinfold, Levi – Black Dog
Platt, Richard – Pirate Diary: The Journal of Jake Carpenter (ill. by Chris Riddell)
Rayner, Catherine – Harris Finds His Feet
Riddell, Chris – Jonathan Swift’s “Gulliver”
Rose, Gerald – Old Winkle and the Seagulls
Schwartz, Joanne – Town is by the Sea (ill. by Sydney Smith)
Sheldon, Dyan – The Whales’ Song (ill. by Gary Blythe)
Smith, Lane – There is a Tribe of Kids
Sutcliff, Rosemary – Black Ships Before Troy (ill. by Alan Lee)
Tan, Shaun – Tales from the Inner City
Turska, Krystyna – The Woodcutter’s Duck
Uden, Grant – Dictionary of Chivalry (ill. by Pauline Baynes)
Waddell, Martin – Can’t You Sleep Little Bear? (ill. by Barbara Firth)
Wild, Margaret – Harry and Hopper (ill. by Freya Blackwood)
Wildsmith, Brian – ABC
Wojciechowski, Susan – The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey (ill. P. J. Lynch)

Kate Greenaway Medal Winners 1956 – 2013

(chronological list)

1956:Tim All Alone, Edward Ardizzone

1957: Mrs. Easter and the Storks, V. H. Drummond

1959: Kashtanka and A Bundle of Ballads, William Stobbs

1960: Old Winkle and the Seagulls, Gerald Rose

1961: Mrs. Cockle’s Cat, Antony Maitland

1962: A.B.C., Brian Wildsmith

1963: Borka: The Adventures of a Goose With No Feathers, John Burningham

1964: Shakespeare’s Theatre, C. Walter Hodges

1965: The Three Poor Tailors, Victor Ambrus

1966: Mother Goose Treasury, Raymond Briggs

1967: Charley, Charlotte and the Golden Canary, Charles Keeping

1968: Dictionary of Chivalry, Pauline Baynes

1969: The Quangle Wangle’s Hat and The Dragon of an Ordinary Family, Helen Oxenbury

1970: Mr. Gumpy’s Outing, John Burningham

1971: The Kingdom Under the Sea, Jan Pienkowski

1972: The Woodcutter’s Duck, Krystyna Turska

1973: Father Christmas, Raymond Briggs

1974: The Wind Blew, Pat Hutchins

1975: Horses in Battle and Mishka, Victor Ambrus

1976: The Post Office Cat, Gail E. Haley

1977: Dogger, Shirley Hughes

1978: Each Peach Pear Plum, Janet Ahlberg

1979: The Haunted House, Jan Pienkowski

1980: Mr. Magnolia, Quentin Blake

1981: The Highwayman, Charles Keeping

1982: Long Neck and Thunder Foot and Sleeping Beauty and Other Favourite Fairy Tales, Michael Foreman

1983: Gorilla, Anthony Browne

1984: Hiawatha’s Childhood, Errol Le Cain

1985: Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady, Juan Wijngaard

1986: Snow White in New York, Fiona French

1987: Crafty Chameleon, Adrienne Kennaway

1988: Can’t You Sleep Little Bear?, Barbara Firth

1989: War Boy: a Country Childhood, Michael Foreman

1990: The Whales’ Song, Gary Blythe

1991: The Jolly Christmas Postman, Janet Ahlberg

1992: Zoo, Anthony Browne

1993: Black Ships Before Troy, Alan Lee

1994: Way Home, Gregory Rogers

1995: The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey, P. J. Lynch

1996: The Baby Who Wouldn’t Go to Bed, Helen Cooper

1997: When Jessie Came Across the Sea, P. J. Lynch

1998: Pumpkin Soup, Helen Cooper

1999: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Helen Oxenbury

2000: I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato, Lauren Child

2001: Pirate Diary: The Journal of Jake Carpenter, Chris Riddell

2002:Jethro Byrde, Fairy Child, Bob Graham

2003: Ella’s Big Chance, Shirley Hughes

2004: Jonathan Swift’s “Gulliver”, Chris Riddell

2005: Wolves, Emily Gravett

2007: The Adventures of the Dish and the Spoon, Mini Grey

2008: Little Mouse’s Big Book of Fears, Emily Gravett

2009: Harris Finds His Feet, Catherine Rayner

2010: Harry and Hopper, Freya Blackwood

2011: FArTHER, Grahame Baker-Smith

2012: A Monster Calls, Jim Kay

2013: Black Dog, Levi Pinfold

2014: This is Not My Hat, Jon Klassen

2015: Shackleton’s Journey, William Grill

2016: The Sleeper and the Spindle, Chris Riddell

2017: There is a Tribe of Kids, Lane Smith

2018: Town is by the Sea, Sydney Smith

2019: The Lost Words, Jackie Morris

2020: Tales From the Inner City, Shaun Tan

[ all information courtesy of ]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

All writings posted here are © Kim Thompson, unless otherwise indicated. For all artwork on this site, copyright is retained by the artist.
%d bloggers like this: